The Cry for Kisses

I teach a Sr High Sunday school class. It is one of my greatest joys to see young people’s minds opened to the Word of God on a weekly basis. Don’t get me wrong. I know I have very little to do with it! The Holy Spirit is faithful and He is ever desirous of showing the beauty of Jesus to the hungry. That is why kids learn… but that isn’t what today’s post is about. We started a study today of the Song of Solomon. I have spent the last few weeks reawakening my journey into this book so I can be a tour guide for my class. The problem is that I am stuck! I am stuck on verse two of chapter one. Now that was plenty for this weeks class but if we are going to go further I need to get past that verse. It says, “Let Him kiss me with the kisses of His mouth for your love is better than wine.” As I read that verse a few weeks ago the Holy Spirit ignited a flame in me that has done more to lead me closer to Jesus than well just about any scripture in my life thus far. I am not exaggerating by saying that. This verse has been my food and my breath for at least three weeks now. The Holy Spirit told me that it was THIS cry that started the Shulammite woman’s journey that is chronicled in the rest of the song. That without this cry she never would have made it out of her vineyard of slave labor. She would have never been to the chambers of the King, she would have never been His bride at all. It was this dangerous, bold, inappropriate, cry, that started it all. She saw Him. She fell in love. She asked for His kisses, and the whole world changed. I began to think about my own life. I began to think about how little I have of God. I began to think about how small my understanding of His love really was. I began to think about how my life and my heart would be different if I really really knew that He was in love with me and that He desired me. How many lies could be undone in a moment by the truth of His love? How many sins would I have the power to say no to by living in that strength? What would it do to me to really and finally believe that He loves me?
Then I did it….
I asked.
“Let Him Kiss me with the kisses of His mouth.” a timid whisper at the first I admit but then I asked again. “Would you kiss me? Would you make it undeniable? Would you finally give me, however you do it Jesus, the power to believe you are in love with me?” The more I thought about it the more desperate and urgent my plea to Heaven became. “Let Him Kiss ME!!!”
“OH COME and KISS ME!!!!”
And then it happened.
He said yes… Over the past few weeks by one way after another I have been experiencing the deepest revelation of the Love of Christ I ever have. My whole attitude has changed. He told me he found me beautiful and I believed Him. He told me I was His favorite and I believed Him. He told me He would enjoy me forever, and I believed Him. I actually deeply and satisfyingly believed Him! I am insane? Well maybe but I am also happier than I have ever been. I am in love. With Jesus. Who knew?
My friends I don’t write this to brag. I don’t write this to tell you that I have special knowledge or experience from God therefore send me $20 dollars and I will send you an anointed hankie that will fix your warts and financial problems. I am telling you this so you will PLEASE take up this cry!!! Pray it! ASK HIM! I DARE YOU! ASK HIM to KISS YOU!!
ask Him now.
ask HIM NOW!
you will never regret it!
I promise.

~ by fromhimthroughhimtohim on July 16, 2007.

Leave a comment